How to use Time Critical Management (TCM) using the Legacy UI

If you are on ITMS 8.5 or 8.5 RU1 you can enable the option to run Time Critical Management (TCM) Tasks using the Legacy UI!

Please do not enable this feature unless you are a very experienced Altiris Admin. It was not intended for general usage as it may affect the SMP infrastructure performance if all tasks or a specific task are executed on thousands of computers at once.

In previous versions you can modify settings using a Tool called: NSConfigurator.exe located in <InstallDrive>:\Program Files\Altiris\Notification Server\Bin\Tools. Using NSConfigurator you are able to modify a File called: CoreSettings.config located in C:\Programdata\Symantec\SMP\Settings

Please do not modify this file unless you are very experienced Altiris Admin or someone from Symantec Support advices you to change settings!!!


To enable this feature on SMP 8.5 or 8.5 RU1 open the SMP Console and click on Settings -> Notification Server -> Core Settings. This is a new option in ITMS 8.5.

modify Core Settings in SMP 8.5 using the UI
set the value to True for TaskExecutionFromLeagacyUIInTcmModeEnabled

This setting will allow you to run TCM Jobs / Task using the Legacy UI when you click on New Schedule. I´ve not seen this option when using „Quick Run“ Task option.

check the checkbox on Time-Critical to run the Job / Task in TCM Mode

If this checkbox is activated the tasks get pushed immediately to all selected devices. This tasks will receive higher priority than other tasks.

Nevertheless, if the Core Setting: TaskExecutionFromLeagacyUIinTcmMode is set to False you are able to run TCM Task in the new Modern UI Interface also introduced with ITMS 8.5.

Kommentar verfassen

Trage deine Daten unten ein oder klicke ein Icon um dich einzuloggen:

WordPress.com-Logo

Du kommentierst mit Deinem WordPress.com-Konto. Abmelden /  Ändern )

Google Foto

Du kommentierst mit Deinem Google-Konto. Abmelden /  Ändern )

Twitter-Bild

Du kommentierst mit Deinem Twitter-Konto. Abmelden /  Ändern )

Facebook-Foto

Du kommentierst mit Deinem Facebook-Konto. Abmelden /  Ändern )

Verbinde mit %s